Media Release by The Hon Robert McClelland MP

Finalists announced in inaugural Homelessness Services Awards

Minister for Housing and Homelessness, Robert McClelland, today announced 23 finalists in the inaugural National Homelessness Services Achievement awards, in recognition of the extraordinary work that organisations undertake in the delivery of homelessness services across the country.

“I want to congratulate all of the awards finalists for their outstanding work in addressing homelessness,” Mr McClelland said.

“Since gaining ministerial responsibility for homelessness I have been particularly impressed by the level of dedication in the homelessness services sector. These awards recognise the commitment of those organisations and their staff who work day in and day out to support some of Australia’s most vulnerable people,” said Mr McClelland.

Nominations were open in seven categories, which celebrate excellence, quality, innovation and achievement by homelessness service providers.

Mr McClelland said, “the strong response we had over the nomination period is a testament to the great work being achieved across the sector.”

“I was particularly pleased to see some great examples of both small and large programs in local communities that are meeting the needs of special client groups such as children and teenagers, young parents, Indigenous Australians and older people vulnerable to homelessness.

“We know that reducing homelessness is something the Government cannot do alone, and we are dedicated to working in partnership with these great organisations.

“This Government is committed to an ambitious, long-term plan to halve the rate of homelessness and offer supported accommodation to all those who seek it by 2020.

“We have invested $5 billion in additional funding in homelessness since 2008 and we are continuing to forge strong partnerships with the community sector, state and territory Governments, and the private sector,” said Mr McClelland.

Award winners will be announced at an awards ceremony and expo event on Thursday 22 March 2012 at Parliament House in Canberra.

National Homelessness Services Achievement Award Finalists
Excellence or innovation in addressing homelessness by an organisation

      • Homeground, VIC
      • Larrakia Nation, NT
      • Maroondah Halfway House, VIC
      • Salvation Army, TAS
      • Youth Futures, WA

Excellence in the prevention of, or early intervention in, homelessness

      • Queensland Police Service, QLD
      • Relationships SA
      • Rural Housing Network, Wodonga, VIC

Outstanding business or philanthropic commitment to addressing homelessness

      • Second Chance Group, QLD
      • StreetSmart Australia, national (except NT)
      • Kids Under Cover partnership with Hocking Stuart Real Estate, national

Excellence or innovation in partnerships in delivering services

      • RSPCA, NSW
      • Wentworth Community Housing, Nepean / Blacktown, NSW
      • The Footpath Library, multiple locations

Closing the Gap: Excellence in addressing Indigenous homelessness

      • Inanna, ACT
      • CSSU Wadeye Safe House, NT
      • New Horizons, NSW

Excellence in supporting pathways to employment or education

      • The Big Issue Women’s Subscription Enterprise, multiple locations
      • Southern Youth and Family Services, NSW
      • Marist Youth Care, NSW

Excellence in addressing homelessness in a regional, rural or remote location

    • Hume Region Homelessness Network, VIC
    • Life Without Barriers, SA
    • Mathew Talbot Homeless Service, NSW, for Vinnies Services