Media Release by The Hon Larry Anthony MP

Nominations open for 2005 Young Australian of the Year Awards

 Minister for Children and Youth Affairs, Larry Anthony, today said nominations are open for the 2005 Young Australian of the Year Awards.

“The Awards present an opportunity to recognise the outstanding contribution young Australians make to their communities.

“I am proud to once again sponsor the awards and each year I am amazed with the determination and motivation shown by these young Australians.

“The Young Australian of the Year Award is a great opportunity to showcase the achievements of young Australians who – through initiative, hard work and persistence – achieve extraordinary results.”

The 2004 winner, Hugh Evans, continues to inspire all Australians. Since experiencing the squalor of the Manila slums in the Philippines during a study tour as a 14-year-old, Hugh has dedicated his life to helping the poorest people in the world. Hugh’s experiences led him to establish The Oak Tree Foundation, Australia’s first entirely youth-run and youth-driven aid and development agency.

“The Young Australian of the Year has been awarded since 1979 and recognises those aged 16 to 25 years who are outstanding and exceptional young Australians.

“Past winners of the award have included Lleyton Hewitt, Scott Hocknell, James Fitzpatrick, Ian Thorpe, Bryan Gaensler, Tan Le and Nova Peris-Kneebone,”
Mr Anthony said.

The National Award winners will be announced on 25 January 2005 on the lawns of Parliament House, Canberra. State and Territory winners will be announced later this year.

Nomination forms are available through the Department of Family and Community Service’s youth website, and the National Australia Day Council website.