Media Release by The Hon Larry Anthony MP

Sarina Green Corps Graduation

Minister for Children and Youth Affairs, Larry Anthony, and Federal Member for Dawson, De-Anne Kelly, today officiated at a graduation ceremony for recruits of the Sarina Green Corps project.

“The Green Corps program is an innovative Coalition Government initiative that gives young Australians aged 17 and 20 years an opportunity to receive quality training while participating in projects addressing significant environmental issues,” Mr Anthony said.

“The voluntary program helps 1,700 young Australians each year to engage with the community whilst also providing hands-on experience to conserve, preserve and restore the nation’s environment and cultural heritage.

“It also effectively helps young people to improve their self-esteem and increase their career, training and employment prospects,” Mr Anthony said.

Mrs Kelly said the Sarina Green Corps project’s aim has been to restore land and vegetation in and around Sarina and involved weed control, propagation, planting and protection of remnant vegetation across the Shire.

“In addition, the project called for the construction and erection of bollards and sand ladders to prevent erosion and other damage to the sand dunes on the beachfront,” Mrs Kelly said.

“Another aspect involved the development of a community nursery in the Sarina catchment area. Activities included propagation of native plants, seed collection and construction of nursery facilities”.

“This team’s work has made a significant contribution to both the local environment and Australia’s heritage and is an inspiration to all young Australians.

“The work was carried out in collaboration with the local partner agency in the project, Sarina Landcare,” Mrs Kelly said.

Both Mrs Kelly and Mr Anthony congratulated participants for their significant contribution.

The Commonwealth Government has committed $69 million to the Green Corps program, contracting Job Futures and Greening Australia to deliver the program nationally from 2002 to 2005.