Media Release by The Hon Larry Anthony MP

Record number of Youth Media Award Entries

 The National Youth Media Awards 2002 has received a record 1,159 nominations Minister for Children and Youth Affairs, Larry Anthony, said today.

“The awards recognise journalists of all ages for positive stories about young people in the Australian media. The awards cover journalists working in print, television, radio in metropolitan and regional areas and online media.

“All the entries this year demonstrated the high standard of journalists in all forms of media. It is good to see they are producing well researched and interesting stories about young people, which contribute to influencing community opinions about young Australians.

“The 45 finalists highlight the best examples of journalism focusing on young people and their achievements.

“I am pleased to see that recognition of our young Australians achievements are continually growing through the media and I look forward to seeing an even stronger response for the 2003 awards,” Mr Anthony said.

The winners of the National Youth Media Awards 2002 will be announced at a presentation event to be held in Sydney on Thursday 5 September. Attached is a list of the finalists.

National Youth Media Awards 2002 Finalists

  • Best feature in metropolitan press
    Kane Young, The Mercury “They look for trouble and fix it”
    Laura Kendall, The Advertiser “Having a say”
    Adam Harvey, The Sunday Telegraph “The courage of kids who return from a one way trip to nowhere”
  • Best feature in suburban/ regional press
    Alison Dean, The Melbourne Times “Children who care”
    Heidi Saliba, Gippsland Times “Shout goes from strength to strength”
    Tenille Bonoguore, Queensland Times “The French Connection”
    Stefan Treyvaud, MAP Magazine “Generation Mogenic”
  • Best news report in metropolitan press
    Laura Kendall, The Advertiser “The lost youngsters who turned their lives around”
    Mark Scala, The Daily Telegraph “Young reveal their biggest fears”
    Sean Cowan, The West Australian “Young work the wild side”
  • Best news report in suburban/ regional press
    Leanne Edminstone, Sunshine Coast Newspaper “Youth dispel stereotypes with stories”
    Scott Warren, Blue Mountains Gazette “Ben starts his cycle for life”
    Tamara Stevenson, The River News “Vaikerie’s young people are right on target”
    Christobel Oldfield, The Border Watch “Helping Youth”
  • Best news/current affairs story on radio
    Belinda Tromp, ABC Radio Bush Telegraph,” Aboriginal students”
    Kieren McLeonard, ABC Radio Bush Telegraph, “Youth Round Table”
    Susi Hamilton, ABC Radio Riverland South Australia, “Youth take Action”
    Zoie Jones, Triple J “Rock Eisteddfod Drug Report”
  • Best feature/interview on radio
    Jemma Louise Schweikert, ABC Carpentaria “Outback youth getting in front”
    Emma Haskin, ABC Triple J Morning Show “No Dole Charter”
    Justine McSweeney, ABC Heywire “The ABC gives regional youth a voice”
    Ben Gerrard, ABC Heywire “Youth Forum”
  • Best television/ current affairs program/ doco
    Ben Cheshire, ABC The Australian Story “Playing for Time”
    Rachel Moss, ABC Fly TV “Mirrored Image with Daniel King”
    Sally Roberts, ABC Stateline “Southern Surfer”
    Sally Roberts, ABC Stateline “Young Priest”
    Lisa Main, ABC Fly TV “Respect”
  • Best television lifestyle program
    Max Brown, ABC Fly TV “Strum – Breakdancing”
    Nia Pericles, ABC Fly TV “Flush – Cyberactivist”
    Network Ten’s Totally Wild program “River Health”
  • Best television news story
    Nicholas Way, Channel Ten News Western Australia ‘Engine Kids”
    Darren Nelson, Imparja TV “Athletes as role models tour to Papunya”
    Lyndall Derrig, NBN Television Newscastle News “Adopt a Resident”
  • Best feature / interview online
    Claire Killeen, Cricinfor Australia “Lee: I like things fast”
    Michael Winkler, Sports Watch “Alexandra Croak – Gymnastics Champion”
    David Goldie and Sohail Dahdal, AFC/ABC New Media “Long Journey, Young Lives”
  • Young Indigenous Journalist of the Year
    Michelle Tyhuis, Radio 4AAA, “Indigenous musical careers”
    Kate Munro, The Koori Mail “Indigenous youth role models”
  • Young Journalist of the Year
    Jessica Parry, Dolly Magazine ‘Body of work”
    Rebekah Devlin, The Advertiser ‘Body of work”
    Zoie Jones, Triple J “Body of work”
  • Popular Choice
    Hannah Edwards, The Sun-Herald “E-Flower business a blooming success”
    Andrew Shipp, The West Australian “Passion Powers an East Timor Story”
    ABC Landline, “Young Australian of the Year”
    Kane Young, The Sunday Tasmanian “They look for trouble”