Media Release by The Hon Larry Anthony MP

New Peak Body on Child Care

Minister for Children and Youth Affairs, Larry Anthony, today officially announced the formation of the Child Care Reference Group to facilitate consultation between Government and the child care sector.

Mr Anthony made the announcement at the National Family Day Care Council of Australia’s Forum in Sydney.

Mr Anthony said the members would be drawn from key national peak organisations from across the child care sector and John Tainton, a specialist in early childhood education and Chair of the National Childcare Accreditation Council.

“The Child Care Reference Group will focus on policy and business aspects of providing high quality child care as well as overall strategic directions for child care across Australia.

“The Group will also provide Government with a formal channel to communicate with key stakeholders. It will be a valuable avenue for getting important information to child care services across the country.

“Access to affordable and reliable child care is a major part of the Coalition Government’s commitment to supporting families and we have delivered.

“There are currently around 500,000 families using approved child care for more than 720,000 children. We have made a record commitment of around $8 billion over the next four years to 2005-06 to ensure quality child care,” Mr Anthony said.

Mr Anthony said the Child Care Reference Group will meet on 23 September 2002.

Child Care Reference Group Membership

  • ACCC (Australian Confederation of Child Care)
  • AECA (Australian Early Childhood Association)
  • AFCCA (Australian Federation Of Child Care Associations)
  • NACBACS (National Association of Community Based Children’s Services)
  • NADRATA (National Alliance of Disability, Resource and Training Agencies)
  • NFDCCA (National Family Day Care Council of Australia)
  • NOSHSA (National Out of School Hours Services Association)
  • OCCA (Occasional Child Care Association)
  • SNAICC (Secretariat of the National Aboriginal and Islander Child Care)
  • John Tainton (Chair of the National Childcare Accreditation Council)