Media Release by The Hon Larry Anthony MP

New Centrelink board appointments

Mr John Pascoe AM and Mr Don Fraser have been appointed Centrelink’s new chairman and non executive director.

“Mr Pascoe and Mr Fraser bring significant private sector experience with expertise in corporate strategy and planning,” said Minister for Community Services Larry Anthony.

Mr Pascoe is currently Non-Executive Chairman of George Weston Foods, where he served as Chief Executive Officer for 15 years.

He has been involved with social and community-focussed programmes, and has held a wide range of Government appointments since 1983.

Mr Fraser has had an extensive career in Australia and internationally with Safeway Stores and Woolworths. He is currently an independent management consultant and corporate adviser and has excellent knowledge of customer service, particularly in a devolved customer service environment.

His rural and regional experience will add value to Centrelink’s operations.

Mr John Thame and Ms Christina Gillies have also been reappointed non-executive directors.

Mr Thame is a Director of the St George Bank and a past Managing Director of Advance Bank. Ms Gillies is an executive of the St George Banking Group.

Mr Thame and Ms Gillies made invaluable contributions to Centrelink during its first three years. Their experience and knowledge is essential for Centrelink’s continued development.

“The Board will continue the good work provided by the inaugural board under Mr Robin Marrett’s chairmanship,” said Mr Anthony.

“Mr Marrett, who did not seek a further term, deserves thanks for the part he played in guiding Centrelink’s development.”