Media Release by Senator the Hon Kay Patterson

Membership of the 2005 Australian Council for Children and Parenting Announced

Building on the contributions of previous members to improve outcomes for Australian families and children, the new members of the Australian Council for Children and Parenting (ACCAP) 2005 have been appointed.

The Minister for Family and Community Services, Senator Kay Patterson, today announced the new members, who will again bring together a wealth of knowledge and experience to the Council.

“ACCAP is an independent advisory body that provides vital advice to the Government in the areas of improving the outcomes for children, parenting, child protection and foster care,” Senator Patterson said.

“The current members of the Council are finalising the important work they have been doing in improving the outcomes for children growing up in Australia, including work flowing from the hosting of a workshop on National Reporting on 24 June.

“The new Council members are due to commence on 29 July 2005, progressing the work the outgoing members’, such as the preparation of advice on the National Agenda for Early Childhood and the 2005 National Child Protection Awards.

“Membership is made up of an Australian Government representative, three state/territory government representatives and 12 community members who are appointed for a term of two years.

“I would like to thank outgoing Chair, Professor Alan Hayes for his hard work and dedication to ensuring a better future for Australia’s children.

“Since the Council was established in 2001, it has played a significant role in providing advice to the Howard Government in the continuing development of family and children’s policy and I look forward to working with the new members,” Senator Patterson said.

A full list of the new members is attached.

Membership of Australian Council for Children and Parenting (ACCAP) 2005


  • Dr Bronwyn Gould

Community Council members are:

  • Mr Brian Babington – CEO of Families Australia,
  • Ms Muriel Bamblett – CEO of the Victorian Aboriginal Child Care Agency (a continuing member),
  • Professor Glenn Bowes – Stevenson Professor of Paediatrics University of Melbourne and Director of Postgraduate Education & Training Royal Children’s Hospital,
  • Ms Jo Cavanagh – CEO of Southern Family Life,
  • Ms Tonia Godhard – Consultant,
  • Ms Judy Radich – President of Early Childhood Australia,
  • Mr Simon Schrapel – Executive Manager, Family & Community Development, Anglicare SA (continuing member),
  • Professor Dorothy Scott– Director, Centre for Child Protection University of South Australia (continuing member),
  • Dr Joe Tucci– CEO Australian Childhood Foundation (continuing member),
  • Associate Professor June Wangmann – Associate Professor Early Childhood Education University of Western Sydney, and
  • Professor Stephen Zubrick – Professor and Head, Division of Population Science, Curtin University Centre for Developmental Health TVW Research Institute for Child Health.

The state/territory government representatives are:

  • Ms Robyn Sullivan
  • Ms Jane Brazier, and
  • Mr Sandra Lambert

The Australian Government representative is:

  • Mr Jeff Popple