Media Release by Senator the Hon Kay Patterson

Howard Government’s $10.5 Million helps families stay together

New family relationship services will be introduced at 33 locations around the nation as the Howard Government moves to further boost early intervention and prevention programmes aimed at keeping Australian families together.

The Minister for Family and Community Services, Senator Kay Patterson today said the new services were another key feature of the Howard Government’s family law reform package costing $397.2 million over four years.

“These services will be located throughout Australia from the Darwin area in the Northern Territory to Devonport in Tasmania, from Port Hedland in Western Australia to Port Macquarie in New South Wales,” Senator Patterson said.

“This initiative is an important feature of the most fundamental reform of the family law system in 30 years, including the introduction of 65 Family Relationship Centres (FRC) to help families reach agreement on joint parenting arrangements for their children.

“While separation is sadly sometimes both inevitable and appropriate, many families are seeking support so that they can resolve issues and avoid the pain of family breakdown.

“These services will deliver a range of interventions such as relationship education and counselling to meet the needs of all family members; women, children and men.

The new family relationships services have been funded at a cost of $10.5 million during 2006-07. This is the first phase of an expansion, which will be continued in 2007-08 and 2008-09.

A list of the locations of the new family relationship services is attached. A competitive selection process and the locations of the new and expanded services will be advertised on Saturday 22 October.


  • Canberra



  • Lismore
  • Maitland/Singleton
  • Penrith
  • Port Macquarie
  • Sutherland
  • Wollongong



  • Alice Springs
  • Top End surrounding Darwin



  • Caboolture/Strathpine
  • Gold Coast
  • Logan
  • Mt Isa
  • Sunshine Coast
  • Townsville
  • Wide Bay/Burnett



  • Mt Gambier
  • North Adelaide/Salisbury
  • Riverland
  • West Adelaide/Southern Adelaide (Port Adelaide)



  • Burnie/Devonport
  • Hobart



  • Frankston
  • Geelong
  • Mildura
  • Morwell/Traralgon (Gippsland)
  • Ringwood
  • Sunshine



  • Albany Kalgoorlie
  • Broome Port Hedland
  • Joondalup