Media Release by Senator the Hon Kay Patterson

Women recognised in Australia Day Honours List

One hundred and ninety women received recognition for their contribution to our Australian way of life today, by being awarded Australia Day Honours in the General Division of the Order of Australia.

Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Women’s Issues, Senator Kay Patterson, today congratulated Dr Jean Calder, Emeritus Professor Enid Campbell OBE and Lady Mary Fairfax AM OBE, for receiving the top honour of Companion in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AC).

“Dr Calder was nominated for her humanitarian work, particularly with people with disabilities living in refugee camps and disadvantaged areas of the Middle East,” Senator Patterson said.

“With a background in the fields of education and rehabilitation, she has authored, since 1966, articles and handbooks on physical education for people with a disability.

“Emeritus Professor Enid Campbell OBE was awarded for her service to legal education, specifically in constitutional law and public law reform.

“She has published over 100 scholarly articles in Australian and International journals and was a member of influential boards and committees reviewing Australian law and constitution.

“Lady Mary Fairfax AM OBE has an exceptional history of services to the community through her work in a wide range of social and economic activities including medical research, health care and cultural heritage.

“Lady Fairfax also supports and nurtures artistic talent in Australia’s next generation of performers.

“I heartily congratulate all recipients of Australia Day Honours, including those nine women who have been appointed Officers in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AO), the 31 women who have been appointed Members in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM), and the 147 female recipients of the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM).

“It’s wonderful to see the significant contribution of all these women being recognised and I’d like to particularly thank the Australian people for nominating these great women,” Senator Patterson said.