Media Release by Senator the Hon Kay Patterson

Women awarded in celebration of Australia Day

Australian women have been honoured for their outstanding contributions and services to the Australian and international community on Australia Day 2006.

Senator Kay Patterson today congratulated the winners as her final duty in her role of the Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Women’s Issues.

“I have appreciated the chance to represent Australian women and particularly enjoy being able to draw attention to some of this country’s most remarkable women in awards such as this,” Senator Patterson said.

“This year I have the pleasure of acknowledging women who have been recognised by the nation for outstanding achievement and service.

The 2006 Australia Day Honours List recognised the exceptional contribution of several individuals, including:

Companion (AC) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

  • Nicole Kidman – for services to the performing arts, health care, young people and humanitarian causes in Australia and overseas.
  • Sister Mary Elphick AM OBE – for her service to medicine and the community in health care.
  • Lady Marigold Merlyn Southey AM – for services to the community as an influential contributor to the development philanthropy in Australia.

Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

  • Katherine Carnell – for her commitment to the ACT business community.

Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

  • Maud Clark – for her services to women in corrective services and marginalised youth, through art, drama and music programs to develop community relationships and opportunities for education and employment.
  • The Honourable Janice Crosio MBE – for her service to the Australian and New South Wales parliaments, local government and the Fairfield community.

“In addition to the 221 women recognised in the General Division of the Order of Australia, 12 won the Public Service Medal, two won the Australian Police Medal, two won the Ambulance Service Medal and two won the Emergency Service Medal.

“It is my great honour to congratulate these exceptional women on their achievements and to be able to end my time in office by recognising a group of such inspirational women,” Senator Patterson.