Media Release by The Hon Larry Anthony MP

New National Childcare Accreditation Council members

Changes to the membership of the National Childcare Accreditation Council, the body that oversees the Quality Improvement and Accreditation System (QIAS) for long day child care centres were announced today by Federal Minister for Community Services, Larry Anthony.

Mr Anthony said Cabinet had approved Mr John Tainton’s appointment to Chair of the Council for the next three years. Mr Tainton is currently a member of the Commonwealth Child Care Advisory Council and has been a council member since July 1995.

“I would like to take this opportunity to welcome Mr Tainton and also thank Ross McLean who has successfully chaired the Council for the past three years,” Mr Anthony said.

“The Council brings together new and existing members with a great blend of knowledge and experience, to oversee the operation of QIAS, including making the final decisions on accreditation for long day care centres. ”

The Director of Health for Standards Australia, Dr Maree Bellamy from New South Wales, has been appointed to the Council for three years.

Jennifer Cashmore, a former Health Minister with the South Australian Government, has been appointed for two years.

“Caroyln Collins, who had been a member since 1997 recently resigned from Council, is to be commended on all her hard work,” Mr Anthony said.

Three existing members, Ms Pamela Horton, Ms Bernadette Giambazi and Ms Tonia Godhard have had their appointments extended.

“The Federal Government, through QIAS, is able to ensure standards important to child development are met and excellence in child care practices is encouraged,” Mr Anthony said.

“With the review of the QIAS entering its final phase, the National Childcare Accreditation Council will be faced with many new and interesting challenges.

“I have every confidence that Mr Tainton and his Council members will rise to meet the challenges placed before them and a high level of child care provision will continue.”