Media Release by The Hon Julie Bishop MP

Women recognised with Australia Day awards

One hundred and fifty eight women have been recognised for their contributions to the Australian way of life as part of the Australia Day 2007 Honours List.

Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Women’s Issues, the Hon Julie Bishop, today congratulated all the award winners, on this significant day for Australians.

“At this time of the year we celebrate the great achievements of all Australians, in particular those who have selflessly dedicated themselves to helping other people,” Minister Bishop said.

“However, I am disappointed in the decline in the number of women nominated this year and remind all Australians to recognise the achievements of women in our communities and to nominate them next year.”

The 2007 Honours List recognised the exceptional contribution of several individuals, including:

Companion (AC) in the General Division of the Order of Australia:

  • Mrs Janet Lee Holmes à Court AO (WA) – services to business, particularly as a leader in the construction, wine and cattle industries and to the advancement of Western Australia’s musical and theatre culture, to the visual arts, and to the community.
  • Dr Bridget Margaret Ogilvie (NSW) – services to science in the field of biomedical research, particularly related to veterinary and medical parasitology, and through support for research funding to improve global health.

Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

  • Dr Susan Marie Alberti AM (VIC) – services to the community through support for major medical research institutions, particularly as a philanthropist, fundraiser and advocate for juvenile diabetes care and research.
  • Reverend Margaret Court MBE (WA) – services to tennis as a player, as a mentor to junior female elite competitors and through professional development programs; and to the communities of Australia and Sri Lanka as the initiator of a range of pastoral care, social support and emergency accommodation projects.
  • Mrs Roslyn Redman Packer (NSW) – services to the community as a major supporter of, and fundraiser for, a broad range of arts, cultural, medical research and health care organisations.

Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

  • Dr Belle Yarbrough Alderman (ACT) – services to children’s literature as an academic, researcher and mentor to emerging writers and illustrators, to the development and management of the Lu Rees Archives of Australian Children’s Literature and to professional associations.
  • Mrs Susanne Frances Bradley (NT) – services to the community of the Northern Territory through support for a range of mental health, disability support, educational, civic and charitable organisations.
  • Sister Margaret Mary Cameron (NSW) – services to the Catholic Church through leadership of the Congregation of Dominican Sisters of Eastern Australia and the Solomon Islands, to education, particularly through the establishment of programs to assist children with hearing impairment, and to the provision of leadership and pastoral formation in the diocese of Wilcannia-Forbes.

Medal (OAM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

  • Miss Robin Christine Anderson (QLD) – services to the community through a range of musical, youth and women’s groups.
  • Mrs Ann Louise Belmont (SA) – services to education through the Gifted and Talented Children’s Association of South Australia, and to the community.
  • Mrs Rowena Marion MacKean (TAS) – services to adult and community education in Tasmania through the University of the Third Age and other organisations.
  • Ms Alisa Peta Camplin (VIC) – services to sport as a Gold Medallist at the Salt Lake City 2002 Winter Olympic Games.
  • Ms Zali Steggall (NSW) – services to alpine skiing, and to the community through support for a range of charitable groups.

“These worthy recipients of Australia Day Honours deserve to be congratulated for their significant contributions to our country.

“I applaud these women for their exceptional efforts in their fields and particularly thank those who nominated them,” Minister Bishop said.