Media Release by The Hon Bill Shorten MP

Australians encouraged to nominate for the National Disability Awards

Joint Media Release with:

  • Jenny Macklin MP, Minister for Families Housing Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

The Minister for Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs, Jenny Macklin, and the Parliamentary Secretary for Disabilities, Bill Shorten, today called on all Australians to nominate people who make a positive contribution to the lives of people with disability for this year’s National Disability Awards.

Ms Macklin said the awards were a chance to acknowledge the efforts people have made on behalf of people with disability, and celebrate the achievements of people with disability.

‘The National Disability Awards is an opportunity for all of us to reflect on the remarkable achievements of Australians with disability across so many sectors,’ Ms Macklin said.

‘I urge everyone in the sector, or with an interest in disability, to think about individuals or businesses that go the extra mile for people with disability and nominate them for an award.’

Mr Shorten said the Awards recognise the outstanding achievements and contributions individuals with disability make to our community, and recognise individuals within our community who have contributed to the disability sector.

‘The fight for equal rights and fair treatment for people with disability is carried out every day by thousands of Australians who deserve recognition through these awards,’ Mr Shorten said.

‘The awards also recognise what people with disability are capable of, and what they can achieve in spite of their impairment and the barriers placed in front of people with disability.’

The Awards form part of the Australian Government’s celebration of International Day of People with Disability (IDPwD) – a UN sanctioned day that is celebrated on 3 December each year.

Ms Thérèse Rein is the official Patron for IDPwD 2010.

Award recipients will be announced at a gala dinner held at the Great Hall in Parliament House, Canberra on 23 November 2010.

There are seven Award categories.

  1. Minister’s Lifelong Achievement Award
  2. Young Disability Challenge Award
  3. Business Award
  4. Local Government Award
  5. Social Inclusion Award
  6. Accessible Housing Award
  7. Yooralla Media Award

To nominate for an Award or for more information, please visit International day of People with Disability website or call 1800 440 385.

Nominations close 23 July.