Media Release by Senator the Hon Ursula Stephens

Canada Bay – Australia’s most sustainable city

Senator Ursula Stephens, congratulated the New South Wales city of Canada Bay on winning the Australian Sustainable Cities Award.

Senator Stephens announced the winners of Keep Australia Beautiful – Australian Sustainable Cities Awards 2009, at a ceremony at Parliament House in Canberra.

“The Australian Sustainable Cities Awards recognise efforts by residents, community groups, businesses and all governments to work together for a sustainable and litter-free environment,” Senator Stephens said.

“Canada Bay’s win in the overall category recognises the outstanding work done by the council and community working together to create a more sustainable municipality through innovation and community participation,” Senator Stephens said.

Canada Bay Council has been engaging the local community with its litter prevention program, including the ‘kNOw waste’ school education program that teaches students how to reduce waste.

The Western-Sydney city, bordering the Parramatta River, has also produced multi-unit dwelling waste management guides for use in high density developments and has conducted a 12-week food recycling and processing trial.

“Building sustainable urban living is becoming a major challenge for cities.

“With three quarters of Australia’s population now living in urban areas, the pressure on our cities to develop sustainably and provide healthy living environments will continue to grow,” Senator Stephens said.

Senator Stephens commended the work of Keep Australia Beautiful in running the Australian Sustainable Cities Awards.

“It is fantastic that cities are being encouraged to promote environmentally friendly practices that engage the community and make the local environment a priority.”

Keep Australia Beautiful Australian Sustainable Cities Awards Recipients 2009

  • Overall Winner – Canada Bay, NSW
  • Community Action & Partnerships – Winner – Hobsons Bay, VIC
    Highly commended – Palmerston, NT
  • Dame Phyllis Frost’ Litter Prevention – Canada Bay, NSW
  • Resource Recovery & Waste Management – Port Adelaide Enfield, SA
    Highly commended: OzHarvest, ACT
  • Environmental Innovation & Protection – Winner – Ipswich, QLD
    Highly commended – Brunswick River Restoration Action Group (BRRAG), WA
  • Water Conservation – Canada Bay, NSW
  • Heritage & Culture – Launceston, TAS
  • Young Legends – Port Adelaide Enfield, SA
  • Energy Innovation – Canada Bay, NSW

Full details of the Keep Australia Beautiful awards and further information on each winner can be found at the Keep Australia Beautiful website.