Media Release by Senator the Hon Ursula Stephens

First meeting of National Volunteering Strategy Advisory Group

Transforming Australia’s volunteer movement was the subject of today’s meeting of the Volunteering Policy Advisory Group, which met in Canberra to discuss the National Volunteering Strategy.

The Advisory Group, appointed and chaired by , Senator Ursula Stephens, will be a key source of expertise and advice to guide the Australia’s vision for volunteering to 2021.

The National Volunteering Strategy will be released to coincide with the tenth anniversary of the United Nations Year of Volunteering in 2011.

Senator Stephens said the strategy will articulate our shared vision for volunteering in Australia and outline the Australian Government’s commitments to supporting and encouraging Australia’s diverse volunteers.

“I am delighted with the expertise of the Advisory Group members and welcome the opportunity to work with such a wide range of volunteering champions,” Senator Stephens said.

“Their input into the National Volunteering Strategy will ensure it aligns with the needs of the community.

“To be effective, the strategy must be informed by practitioners, volunteers, volunteer organisations and current research.

“This gives us the opportunity to work together to find fresh approaches to promoting Australia’s strong volunteering movement.

“Volunteers are crucial to the wellbeing of our society, reaching out to people every day, building strong social connections and rich cultural, sporting and environmental institutions within their communities.

“Their work is vital to achieving the Australian Government’s vision of an inclusive Australia where everyone feels valued and has the opportunity to fulfil their potential,” Senator Stephens said.

Volunteers also play a significant economic role with voluntary work contributing approximately $14.6 billion to the Australian economy each year.

Volunteering Policy Advisory Group

Member Organisation
Senator the Hon Ursula Stephens (Chair) Parliamentary Secretary for Social Inclusion and the Voluntary Sector
Mr Doug Taylor Chief Executive Officer, United Way
Associate Professor Melanie Oppenheimer School of Humanities, University of New England
Ms Catherine Hunter Director of Corporate Citizenship, KPMG
Mr Jelenko Dragisic Chief Executive Officer, Volunteering Queensland
Ms Margaret Bell President, Chain Reaction Foundation
Major General Hori Howard Chair, Australian Emergency Management Volunteer Forum
Mr Cary Pedicini Chief Executive Officer, Volunteering Australia
Mr Gregory Andrews Chief Executive Officer, Indigenous Community Volunteers