Media Release by Senator the Hon Amanda Vanstone

2002 Prime Minister’s Community Business Partnership Award Winners – NT

The combined efforts of Alcan Gove, YBE Aboriginal enterprises, and a number of indigenous organisations and clans in north-east Arnhem Land have created YNOTS, a training school for Indigenous people, and have earned them the 2002 Northern Territory Prime Minister’s Award for Excellence in Community Business Partnerships.

The success of the YNOTS courses, which involve teaching workplace and life skills to Indigenous trainees, has enabled all nineteen 2001 graduates to find work. The school is now set to welcome its second intake of students for certificate-level training in earthmoving, mining and civil construction.

YNOTS is a true joint effort, involving funding and training support from mining operation Alcan Gove, administrative and job placement support from YBE Aboriginal enterprises, funding from the Department of Workplace Relations, and contributions from several Indigenous clans and organisations.

Importantly, the YNOTS initiative is strongly supported by Indigenous leaders who see it helping to close the gap between Indigenous and non-Indigenous cultures.

The program not only provides work opportunities for young Indigenous people, it also builds their self-esteem and confidence, and is an outstanding example of what can be achieved when organisations and communities work together.

This year’s Prime Minister’s Awards for Excellence in Community Business Partnerships have attracted hundreds of nominations from around the country, demonstrating that the partnership spirit remains strong at all levels of the Australian community.

The Awards recognise the positive opportunities that community business partnerships create for local communities and within business organisations.

The YNOTS partnership will now be judged against other State and Territory winners for the National Large Business Category Award to be announced at Parliament House in Canberra on 11 December.

National winners and Special Award winners will receive $10 000 towards the extension of their community project.