Media Release by The Hon Mal Brough MP

Young essay writers recognised

Outstanding young essay writers have been recognised tonight with the announcement of the winners of the 2006 Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Essay Competition by Minister for Families, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs, Mal Brough.

"It is pleasing to see students from school and tertiary intuitions taking a keen interest in this competition for the third year, following on from the hundreds of entries received across Australia since 2004," Mr Brough said.

"The competition is an annual writing competition held by the Prime Minister’s Community Business Partnership offering students an opportunity to express their opinions, concerns and hopes about corporate social responsibility.

"I’m pleased to announce Patrick Miller, from the University of Melbourne, as the winner of the tertiary category for his essay which discusses how organisations which embed corporate social responsibility into their business practices are more likely to succeed than those that do not.

"First place winner in the school category is Harry Wan, from Melbourne High School, whose essay encourages schools to develop a set of guidelines for assessing sponsorship proposals which take into account the issue of corporate social responsibility.

"For their amazing work, Harry and Patrick will each receive $2,000, with their school and university each receiving $3,000 to purchase educational resources or contribute to a local community project.

"I congratulate the 2006 winners, finalists, merit award winners and encouragement award winner and extend my thanks to the students across Australia who participated in the competition."

A list of all placegetters and encouragement award winners is attached.

Winners of the School Competition

Secondary Competition

  • First Place: Harry Wan – Melbourne High School, Victoria.
  • Second Place: Victoria Lui – Pymble Ladies’ College, New South Wales.
  • Third Place: Adnan Visram – Churchlands Senior High School, Western Australia.
  • Awards of Merit
    Freddy Hess – The Hutchins School, Tasmania.
    Blaine Broomhall – Brunswick Secondary College, Victoria.
  • Encouragement Award
    Olivia Stephenson – All Saints College, Western Australia.

Tertiary Competition

  • First Place: Patrick Miller – The University of Melbourne, Victoria.
  • Second Place: Brydie Flynn – The University of Western Australia, Western Australia.
  • Third Place: Ben Swanton -The University of Sydney, New South Wales.