Media Release by Senator the Hon Amanda Vanstone

Prime Minister’s Community Business Partnership Award Winners – Tasmania

I want to congratulate the two Tasmanian partnerships that have won State Awards in the 2002 Prime Minister’s Awards for Excellence in Community Business Partnerships.

WIN TV and Launceston College have shown that even small organisations can make a big impact in their local communities when they work together. They were awarded Tasmania’s Small Business 2002 Prime Minister’s Award for Excellence in Community Business Partnerships for their excellent work in tackling a range of youth issues in Launceston.

One major part of this partnership’s commitment to educating young people about important issues involved students from the college working with WIN staff to produce a community service advertisement, showing the impact of car theft on the people involved.

A partnership between Aurora Energy and Asthma Tasmania has made life easier for children across the State who have asthma and is an example of just what can be achieved when larger organisations put their heads together.

This partnership’s success in raising money and awareness for such a vital cause has earned them the State Award in the Large Business Category.

Aurora and Asthma Tasmania have been collaborating since 1995 in an ongoing awareness campaign, which culminates in the annual ‘Whistle Day’ fundraising promotion. Funds raised from Whistle Day this year have enabled Asthma Tasmania’s team of nurses to increase the number of family asthma education sessions they offer.

The Prime Minister’s Awards recognise the positive opportunities that such partnerships create, and their contribution to building stronger communities through shared commitment, energy and creativity.

This year’s Awards have attracted hundreds of nominations from around the country, demonstrating that a spirit of working together remains strong at all levels of the Australian community.

These two Tasmanian partnerships will now be judged against other State and Territory winners for the National Small and Large Business Category Awards to be announced at Parliament House in Canberra on 11 December.