Media Release by Senator the Hon Anne Ruston

Jehovah’s Witnesses now participating in the National Redress Scheme

Jehovah’s Witnesses has now joined the National Redress Scheme allowing survivors of this institution to have their applications progressed.

In addition to the Jehovah’s Witnesses, a further 33 institutions are joining the Scheme including Tennis Australia, Ipswich Girl’s Grammar School, St John Ambulance Australia Queensland, Youth Off the Streets and Scripture Union Tasmania. This announcement means that, in total, 37 applications can be progressed.

Minister for Families and Social Services Anne Ruston welcomed the commitment from the latest group of institutions to join the Scheme, many of which had not been named in an application.

“The Morrison Government has been absolutely clear that we expect institutions which have been named by a survivor in an application to join the National Redress Scheme,” Minister Ruston said.

“It is clear that the powerful financial, reputational and legislative levers the Commonwealth has used have been successful at ensuring institutions understand and recognise their moral obligation to survivors.

“We are also working hard to make sure that every institution with a history of working with young people joins the Scheme no matter when a survivor comes forward to access redress through the Scheme.”

Minister Ruston reminded institutions that when the Scheme received an application, that institution then has six months to join the Scheme.

“Any institution which fails to participate will be named and shamed, become ineligible for Commonwealth grants and risk being stripped of their charitable status and, therefore, lose associated tax concessions,” Minister Ruston said.

To date, the Commonwealth, all state and territory governments and 526 non-government institutions across Australia are participating in the Scheme.

As at 3 September 2021, the Scheme has received 11,835 applications. In total 6,208 payments have been made totalling more than $529.3 million.

Further information about the National Redress Scheme is available on the website:

Attachment A – Institutions joining the Scheme

New Non-government Institutions (lone institutions)

  • All Hallows’ Limited (QLD)
  • Association of Ukrainians in South Australia (SA)
  • Beacon Hill Youth Club Incorporated (NSW)
  • Board of Trustees of Ipswich Girls’ Grammar School (QLD)
  • C3 Church Mount Annan (NSW)
  • Cootharinga North Queensland (QLD)
  • Covenant Christian School Association (NSW)
  • Devonfield Enterprises Inc (TAS)
  • Emmaus Christian School Canberra (ACT)
  • Georges River Grammar School (NSW)
  • Gold Coast Project for Homeless Youth (QLD)
  • Hebron Trust, trading as the Church of the Living God Hurstville (NSW)
  • KU Children’s Services    (NSW)
  • Scripture Union Tasmania (TAS)
  • St Dominic’s Priory, trading as the Dominican Sisters of North Adelaide (SA)
  • St John Ambulance Australia Queensland Limited (QLD)
  • St Patrick’s College Townsville Limited (QLD)
  • Strathacona Baptist Girls Grammar School Limited (VIC)
  • Swan Christian Education Association (WA)
  • The Daughters of Divine Zeal Property Association (VIC)
  • The Movement Church Ltd (NSW)
  • The Northcott Society (NSW)
  • Tennis Australia Limited (National)
  • Upper Murray Family Care Inc. (VIC)
  • Youth Off the Streets Limited (NSW)

New Non-government Institutions (participating groups)

  • Christian Community Aid Service (NSW)
  • Community Housing (QLD)
  • Emmanuel Community (QLD)
  • Integrated Family and Youth Service (QLD)
  • Jehovah’s Witnesses (National)
  • Metropolitan Baptist Church (NSW)
  • Polish Association in Hobart (TAS)
  • SYC Ltd (SA)
  • Westbourne Grammar School (VIC)

Additions to the ACS Mutual – Australian Christian Churches participating group

  • Assembleia De Deus Na Australia (NSW)
  • Barak Christian Ministries Inc. (VIC)
  • Cardwell Assembly of God Church (QLD)
  • Christian Community Centre Care Arm (NT)
  • Hephzibah Christian Church Inc. (VIC)
  • Living World Lakeside (NSW)
  • Wilcannia Living Waters Church (NSW)
  • Zetseat Ethiopian Evangelical Church in Melbourne (VIC)

Additions to the ASC Mutual – CRC Churches participating group

  • Tennant Creek Christian Family Incorporated (NT)

Additions to the ACS Mutual – Faith Community Church Group participating group

  • Faith Community Church Incorporated  

Additions to the Anglican Church of Australia participating group

  • All Saints College (QLD)
  • Clarence Valley Anglican School (NSW)
  • Mission to Seafarers WA (WA)

Additions to the Baptist Churches of NSW & ACT participating group

  • Ashfield Baptist Child Care (NSW)
  • Bedford College (NSW)
  • Berowra Christian School (NSW)
  • Beverly Hills Chinese Baptist Church (NSW)
  • Camp Elim Association (NSW)
  • Casino Baptist Church Christian Community Preschool (NSW)
  • Christian Missionary Church (NSW)
  • Different Key (NSW)
  • East Chatswood Baptist Church (NSW)
  • East Lindfiled Baptist Church (NSW)
  • Faith Bible Baptist Church (NSW)
  • Greenacre Baptist Christian School (NSW)
  • Griffith Baptist Church (NSW)
  • GWFC Childcare (NSW)
  • Hillston Baptist Church (NSW)
  • Hopefield (Southern Community Welfare, Gymea) (NSW)
  • Inaburra Communications (NSW)
  • Liberty Baptist Church (Cardiff Heights)( NSW)
  • Maitland Baptist Church Child Care (NSW)
  • Manildra-Molong Baptist Church (NSW)
  • Merewether Baptist Church (NSW)
  • Mimosa Baptist Church (NSW)
  • Moree Christian School (NSW)
  • Morling College (NSW)
  • Moruya Baptist Church (NSW)
  • Nambucca Baptist Church (NSW)
  • Nelson Bay Baptist Church (NSW)
  • Northcross Christian School (NSW)
  • Norwest Christian School (NSW)
  • Nowra Baptist Church Christian School (NSW)
  • Open Circle (NSW)
  • Parkes Christian School (NSW)
  • Ridgecrest (WDBA) (NSW)
  • Slavic Christian Church (NSW)
  • Snowy Mountains Christian School (NSW)
  • Sydney Immanuel Korean Baptist Church (NSW)
  • Taree Christian College (NSW)
  • The Guardian Angel Preschool (Claymore) (NSW)
  • The Hub Baptist Churches (Grafton) (NSW)
  • The Hub Baptist Churches (Murwillumbah)(NSW)
  • The Hub Baptist Churches (Ocean Shores) (NSW)
  • The Hub Baptist Churches (Tweed Heads) (NSW)
  • The Sanctuary   (NSW)
  • Warilla Baptist Church Preschool (NSW)
  • Water of Life Ministries (NSW)
  • Wyong Christian Community School (NSW)

Additions to the Baptist Churches of Victoria participating group

  • Pleasant Street and Forest Street Baptist Church (VIC)
  • Beaumaris-Mordialloc Baptist Church (VIC)
  • North Balwyn Baptist Church (VIC)
  • Chelsea Baptist Church (VIC)
  • Beaumaris Baptist Church (VIC)
  • Wendouree Baptist Church (VIC)
  • Pleasant Street Baptist Church (VIC)

Additions to the Lutheran Church of Australia participating group

  • Hill View Lutheran Services to the Disabled Incorporated (SA)

Additions to the Passionist Fathers participating group

The Trustees of the Passionist Sisters of St Paul of the Cross (NSW)