Media Release by Senator the Hon Anne Ruston

Suspension of mutual obligation requirements for job seekers and participants in South-East Queensland extended

Joint Media Release with:

  • The Hon Stuart Robert MP
    Minister for Employment, Workforce, Skills, Small and Family Business

The Morrison Government has extended the suspension of mutual obligation requirements after COVID-19 lockdown restrictions were extended today in South-East Queensland.

The temporary suspension of mutual obligation requirements already in place for the Brisbane, Moreton Bay, Gold Coast, Ipswich, Lockyer Valley, Logan City, Noosa, Redlands, Scenic Rim, Somerset, and Sunshine Coast Local Government Areas will now remain until Thursday 12 August 2021 inclusive.

These arrangements will apply to job seekers in jobactive, Online Employment Services, Disability Employment Services and participants in ParentsNext who live or are serviced in the 11 South-East Queensland Local Government Areas.

Job seekers and participants in these areas will not face payment suspensions or financial penalties for failing to meet their mutual obligation requirements that are due, or are arranged to occur, during the suspension period.

Job seekers and participants in these areas are encouraged to stay connected to employment services to ensure they are supported to access the full range of assistance, including mental health services if required. Job seekers should continue to check when their mutual obligation requirements are due after the temporary suspension ends.

Special Circumstances Exemptions continue to be available through Services Australia for job seekers and participants who require them.

The Government will continue to closely monitor the situation in Queensland, and other jurisdictions affected by COVID-19 restrictions.

More information about mutual obligation requirements can be found at: