Media Release by Senator the Hon Anne Ruston

Suspension of mutual obligations requirements in NSW extended further

Joint Media Release with:

  • The Hon Stuart Robert MP
    Minister for Employment, Workforce, Skills, Small and Family Business

The Australian Government has further extended the suspension of mutual obligation requirements after COVID-19 lockdown restrictions were extended in parts of New South Wales.

The suspension of mutual obligation requirements will apply to New South Wales job seekers and participants in the regions of Bayside, Blue Mountains, Canada Bay, Central Coast, City of Sydney, Greater Sydney, Inner West, Randwick, Shellharbour, Waverley, Wollongong, and Woollahra and will remain in place until Tuesday 3 August 2021 inclusive.

These arrangements will apply to job seekers in jobactive, Online Employment Services, Disability Employment Services and participants in ParentsNext who live or are serviced in these areas.

Job seekers and participants in these areas will not face payment suspensions or financial penalties for failing to meet their mutual obligation requirements that are due, or are arranged to occur, during the suspension period.

Job seekers and participants in these areas are still encouraged to stay connected to employment services to ensure they are supported to access the full range of assistance, including mental health services if required. Job seekers should continue to check when their mutual obligation requirements are due after the temporary suspension extension ends.

Special Circumstances Exemptions continue to be available through Services Australia for job seekers who require them.

The Government will continue to closely monitor the situation in New South Wales.

More information about mutual obligations requirements can be found at: