Media Release by Senator the Hon Anne Ruston

National Redress Scheme committed to greater accountability and transparency

The number of institutions participating in the National Redress Scheme has more than doubled as the Morrison Government continues to pressure organisations to sign up.

Minister for Families and Social Services Anne Ruston said there were 162 non-government institutions participating in the Scheme, up from 67 last year in addition to the Commonwealth, states and territories.

“I am encouraged that a significant number of institutions and sites have completed the steps to join the Scheme,” Minister Ruston said.

“At a recent meeting with state and territory ministers we all agreed it is unacceptable that institutions with redress liability have not yet joined the Scheme.”

“We agreed to consider the use of all available levers to pressure non-participating institutions to join as a matter of urgency.”

The total number of sites including churches, schools, children’s homes and charities across Australia that have joined the Scheme has increased from 41,900 to 47,600 and means that more than 200 applications which had been on hold could now be progressed.

Minister Ruston said the Government would also develop a reporting framework over the coming months to set out appropriate timeframes for finalising applications.

“The Morrison Government with the states and territories have agreed on the need for greater accountability and transparency to ensure redress payments are being delivered in line with community expectations,” Minister Ruston said.

“We understand and acknowledge this has been a slower process than survivors had hoped which is why we want to ensure applicants and the wider community have more information about the application process and progress.”

Attachment A – institutions joining the Scheme

More information, including a searchable list of institutions that have joined the Scheme and support services to help people apply for redress, is available at:

Prior to these declarations, the estimated number of applications on hold because the institutions had not yet joined was 609 applications (14 per cent based on data as at 25 October 2019).

After these declarations, the estimated number of applications on hold because the institutions have not yet joined the Scheme was 493 applications (10 per cent based on data as at 24 January 2020).

The non-government institutions that joined the Scheme recently are:

  • A2A (NSW, QLD, SA, TAS, VIC)
  • Abbotsleigh School (NSW)
  • Alta-1 (QLD, WA)
  • Augustinians (NSW and QLD)
  • Australian Christian Churches (National)
  • Australian Christian Churches Schools (NSW, QLD, VIC)
  • The Australian Institute of Music (NSW)
  • Autism Spectrum Australia (Aspect) (National)
  • The Baptist Union of the Northern Territory (NT) 
  • The Baptist Union of Queensland (Qld)
  • Barnardos Australia
  • Barwon Child, Youth and Family (VIC)
  • Blue Mountains Christian Education Association 
  • Brigidine Sisters (VIC, NSW, QLD, SA, WA)
  • Brisbane Christian Fellowship (QLD)
  • Brisbane Water (NSW) Legacy Club (NSW)
  • Burnside Family Church (SA)
  • Calvary Health Care Services (all states and territories)
  • C3C Churches (ACT, NSW, QLD, SA)
  • Central Church (NSW)
  • Central Queensland Christian College
  • Children Australia (Ozchild) (VIC)
  • Christ’s Heart Church (NSW)
  • Christian Community School
  • Christian Covenant Community (QLD)
  • Christian School Sports Association QLD
  • Christian Schools Australia
  • Churches of Christ (NSW)
  • Churches of Christ in Victoria and Tasmania (VIC and TAS)
  • Coast Christian School
  • Compass Community Care (VIC)
  • CRC Churches (NSW, SA, TAS, VIC)
  • Crosslink (ACT, VIC)
  • The Crossroads Christian Centre (NSW)
  • Dale Chaplaincy Services (WA)
  • Danish Church in Australia (NSW)
  • Daughters of Charity of St Vincent de Paul (NSW)
  • Devonport Christian School
  • Dominican Sisters of Western Australia (WA)
  • Dream Centre Christian Church (QLD)
  • Emmaus Christian College
  • Emerald Centre for Hope and Outreach (VIC)
  • Faith Community Church (WA)
  • Forerunners International (QLD)
  • Full Gospel Churches of Australia (QLD)
  • Grace Church Shellharbour City (NSW)
  • Global Mission Partners (NSW and QLD)
  • Gymea Peoples Church (NSW)
  • Heart City Church International (WA)
  • Hillsong (NSW)
  • Hope College Sydney (NSW)
  • Independent Baptist (NSW, QLD)
  • IPHC Ministries (Australia) (WA)
  • Koinonia Christian Academy School
  • Legacy Club Services (NSW)
  • Living Hope Church (NSW)
  • Living Success Christian Centre (NSW)
  • Living Waters Victoria Worship Centre (VIC)
  • The Lutheran Church of Australia (National)
  • MacKillop Family Services (VIC)
  • Maitland Evangelical Church (NSW)
  • Mid North Coast Christian Broadcasters (NSW)
  • Mighty LivingWaters – Life Fellowship (WA)
  • Ministers Fellowship International (QLD, TAS, VIC)
  • New Life Christian Centre Parramatta (NSW)
  • New Life Christian Fellowship Narrabri (NSW)
  • Northern Beaches Christian Centre (NSW)
  • Northern District Chinese Christian Church Sydney (NSW)
  • Open Heaven Ministries International (QLD)
  • Pallottines (VIC and WA)
  • Peer Power Australia (QLD)
  • People of Destiny International Ministries (WA)
  • The Potters House (SA, WA)
  • Raceview Congregational Fellowship (QLD)
  • Reaching the Nations Christian Church (NSW)
  • The Redeemed Christian Church of God, Queensland (QLD)
  • Redemptorist Congregation (NSW, QLD)
  • Restoration Fellowships (QLD, VIC)
  • RiverCity Christian Church Hobart (TAS)
  • Ruach Ministries (NSW)
  • Schools Ministry Group (SA)
  • The Servants of Jesus Community (NSW)
  • Sisters of St Joseph Maitland (aka Sisters of St Joseph Lochinvar) (NSW)
  • Stand Tall – The Event (NSW)
  • St Columbans Mission Society (VIC)
  • St John Ambulance Australia (NSW)
  • Toongabbie Christian College
  • Transform Aid International (NSW)
  • United Pentecostal Church of Australia (ACT, NSW, NT, QLD, VIC, WA)
  • Victorious Ministry through Christ Australia (NSW)
  • The Vincentian Fathers (NSW)
  • Vineyard Christian Fellowship Brisbane West (QLD)
  • Word of Life Fellowship (NSW)
  • Youth Dimension (VIC)
  • Youth With A Mission Group (NSW, QLD, SA)

The additions to the Anglican Church of Australia participating group are:

  • Anglican Diocese Canberra and Goulburn (ACT and NSW)
  • Clarendon Children’s Home Inc (TAS)
  • Anglican Community Care Incorporated (SA)
  • Society of the Sacred Mission – Australian Province (SA)
  • The Archbishop of Sydney’s Anglican Aid (NSW)
  • Yarra Valley Grammar (VIC)
  • The Wangaratta Diocesan Trustees (NSW)
  • The Wangaratta Diocesan Trustees

The addition to the Baptist Churches of South Australia participating group is West Croydon Baptist Church.
The additions to the Franciscan Order participating group are:

  • The Order of the Capuchin Friars Minor (NSW)
  • Our Lady of the Assumption Seminary (NSW)
  • St Anthony Shrine (NSW)
  • Trustees of the Order of Capuchin Friars Minor (NSW)

The additions to the Sisters of the Good Samaritan participating group are:

  • Lourdes Hill College (QLD)
  • Mater Christi College (QLD)
  • Mater Dei College (NSW)
  • Mount St Benedict College (NSW)
  • Rosebank College (NSW)
  • Santa Maria College (VIC)
  • Stella Maris College (NSW)
  • St Mary Star of the Sea College (NSW)
  • St Patrick’s College (NSW)
  • St Scholastica’s College (NSW)

The additions to the Uniting Church in Australia participating group are:

  • Annesley College (SA)
  • Pedare Christian College Inc. (SA)
  • Scotch College Adelaide (SA)
  • Westminster School (SA)