Media Release by The Hon Stuart Robert MP

Changes to the NDIS Independent Advisory Council

Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), Stuart Robert, today announced the appointment of Dr Leighton Jay to the Independent Advisory Council (Council) to the NDIS.

Minister Robert said the Council plays an important role in supporting the NDIA Board, and Dr Jay’s appointment complements an already strong and knowledgeable group of Council members.

‘I would like to welcome Dr Leighton Jay to the Council. He has extensive experience in the disability sector, particularly as the parent of an NDIS participant with complex disability support needs, and I look forward to working with him,’ Minister Robert said

‘Each Council member brings their individual insights, knowledge and experience to the table. This is vital to achieving the best outcomes for participants and delivering the NDIS effectively.’

Dr Jay is a member of the Council’s formal Reference Groups, a qualified Company Director, and a University Associate with Curtin University’s School of Occupational Therapy & Social Work. He has also worked with numerous service providers and government agencies in Australia and Canada.

In July 2020, Ms Robyn Kruk AM was appointed Principal Member of Council. Current Council members Sylvana Mahmic, Liz Reid, Kerry Allan-Zinner, Judy Huett, Jennifer Cullen, Leah van Poppel and James Manders were reappointed for another term, along with Dr Ben Gauntlett as Expert Adviser, and joined by new members Tricia Malowney OAM, Sam Paior, Mark Tonga and Sharon Boyce.

The IAC provides formal advice to the NDIA Board, the governing body of the NDIS, on the most important issues affecting participants, carers and families. Decisions to appoint or re-appoint members were made in consultation with the NDIA, the current Principal Member of the Council, and states and territories.