Media Release by The Hon Stuart Robert MP

Changes to the NDIS Independent Advisory Council

Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), Stuart Robert, today announced the new and returning members of the Independent Advisory Council from 1 July 2020.

The Independent Advisory Council provides formal advice to the Board of the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA), the governing body of the NDIS, on the most important issues affecting participants, carers and families.

Robyn Kruk AO has been appointed as the new Principal Member and is joined by four other new members, Tricia Malowney OAM, Sam Paior, Mark Tonga and Sharon Boyce, who bring a diverse suite of experience in various aspects of the disability sector, disability advocacy, and sensory, physical and intellectual disability.

Current members Sylvana Mahmic, Liz Reid, Kerry Allan-Zinner, Judy Huett, Jennifer Cullen, Leah van Poppel and James Manders have all been reappointed for another term.

Minister Robert said each member brings their individual insights, knowledge and experience to the table. This is vital to achieving the best outcomes for participants and delivering the NDIS effectively.

Ms Kruk has extensive experience as Chief Executive of state policy, regulatory and service delivery agencies and served as the inaugural Commissioner of the National Mental Health Commission. In addition to bringing a wealth of knowledge to the role, Ms Kruk is also a current member of the NDIA Board, providing an important bridge between the two bodies.

Minister Robert said with some new and some re-appointed members today, we have a strong, knowledgeable Independent Advisory Council to support the NDIA Board. The majority of Council members are people with disability, and all members have either lived experience of disability or are experts in a wide range of disability and advocacy sectors.

‘I would like to thank all outgoing members of the Independent Advisory Council for their contribution. I would particularly like to thank John Walsh for his significant contribution to the Independent Advisory Council, as acting Principal Member,’ Mr Robert said. 

Decisions to appoint or re-appoint members were made in consultation with the NDIA, the current Principal Member of the Council, and states and territories.