Media Release by The Hon Sarah Henderson MP

International Day of People with Disability recognises Australia’s most talented paralympians

The Australian Government is supporting the Para-performance of the Year Award given in recognition of significant sporting achievements during the year, as part of the 2018 International Day of People with Disability celebrations.
Assistant Minister for Social Services, Housing and Disability Services, said the award is about recognising Australia’s most talented paralympians at the AIS Sport Performance Awards. 
“I’m proud to support the Australian Institute of Sport in celebrating the hard work, determination and triumphs of these athletes,” Ms Henderson said.
Previous winners of the award include cyclist Alistair Donohue and wheelchair rugby team, the Australian Steelers.
The AIS Sport Performance Awards will be held tonight, in Sydney.
The Sport Personality of the Year Award, for which paralympians Dylan Alcott and Kurt Fernley are nominated, will also be announced at tonight’s awards.
These awards will bring together people from across the sporting community to witness the announcement of the winners, and the general public will be able to listen live as the ceremony is broadcast on ABC Grandstand Digital.