Media Release by The Hon Sarah Henderson MP

National Awards for Disability Leadership

Media Statement

It was an honour to join in the celebrations yesterday for International Day of People with Disability (IDPwD).

I was delighted to be a part of the National Awards for Disability Leadership via webcast from Parliament House. The new-format awards were co-hosted in several locations around Australia via webcast so that people with disability, no matter where they are located, could participate. The Morrison Government contributed $30,000 in sponsorship to assist with the costs of running these awards.

The national awards, which were led by the disability sector for people with disability, are a very important way to recognise and champion people with disability who are leaders in their field.

The awards are an initiative of the Disability Leadership Institute (DLI), Disabled People’s Organisations Australia (DPOA) and the Australian Federation of Disability Organisations (AFDO).

I extend my congratulations to the following winners:

  • Janice Slattery for the Lesley Hall Award for Lifetime Achievement;
  • Rosemary Kayess for the Rights Activism award;
  • SL&RR LGBTIQ project for the Inclusion award;
  • Client Voice Project Group for the Innovation award;
  • Jessica Walton for the Social Impact award;
  • Anthony Mulholland for the Change Making award; and
  • Sarah Houbolt for The Arts award.

The Australian Government has been supporting, promoting and raising awareness of International Day of People with Disability around Australia since 1996.

I look forward to working with the disability sector to look at how we can re-invigorate disability awards in the future.