Media Release by The Hon Paul Fletcher MP

Additional institutions join the National Redress Scheme

Minister for Families and Social Services, Paul Fletcher has welcomed the addition of more institutions to the National Redress Scheme today, 22 Anglican institutions, five Baptist organisations, Scouts Queensland, Sisters of Mercy Parramatta, and the Uniting Church in Australia, representing over 7,000 sites across Australia.

“I am pleased that institutions are taking heed of the request for them to join the Redress Scheme as soon as possible,” Mr Fletcher said.

“I continue to emphasise the urgency of giving survivors access to redress as soon as they are able.

The Liberal-National Government expects all the institutions where institutional child sexual abuse has occurred to sign up to the National Redress Scheme as soon as possible.

As additional institutions join, more applications can be processed and more survivors of institutional child sexual abuse can access support and acknowledgement through the Scheme.

Survivors can make applications for redress at any time, however applications cannot be processed until the relevant institution has completed the necessary steps to join the Scheme.

The list of 22 Anglican institutions who joined the Scheme today are:

  1. Anglican Church Diocese Bunbury
  2. Anglican Church Diocese of Grafton
  3. Anglican Church Diocese of Gippsland
  4. Anglican Church Diocese of Melbourne
  5. Anglican Church Diocese of Newcastle
  6. Anglican Church Diocese of North Queensland
  7. Anglican Church Diocese of Sydney
  8. Anglican Church Diocese of Tasmania
  9. Anglican Church Diocese of Willochra
  10. Anglican Schools Corporation
  11. Anglicare SA Ltd
  12. Anglicare N.T. Ltd
  13. Brotherhood of St Laurence
  14. Church Missionary Society – Australia Limited
  15. Church Missionary Society Victoria Incorporated
  16. Church Missionary Society – NSW and ACT Limited
  17. Mentone Grammar School
  18. St Columba Anglican School Council
  19. St Michael’s Collegiate School
  20. The Council of Macarthur Anglican School ATF Macarthur Anglican School
  21. The Council of Tara Anglican School for Girls
  22. The Hutchins School.

The five Baptist organisations who joined the Scheme today are:

  1. Baptist Churches of New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory
  2. Baptist Churches of Victoria
  3. Baptist Care NSW & ACT
  4. Baptist Care WA
  5. Baptist Care SA.

Redress can include a redress payment, access to counselling services and a direct personal response from the responsible institution for people who want it.

For more information, including a searchable list of institutions that have joined the Scheme and support services to help you to complete an application, visit

Redress Support Services are available to help people understand the Scheme, provide emotional support and guide people through the application process. A list of support services is available