Media Release by The Hon Jane Prentice MP

Remarkable efforts recognised at the 10th National Disability Awards

Assistant Minister for Social Services and Disability Services, Jane Prentice has announced this year’s National Disability Awards winners at a gala ceremony at Parliament House in Canberra tonight.

Mrs Prentice congratulated the 10 winners noting that they have all made a remarkable effort to improve the lives of people with disability.

“These passionate and hardworking people and organisations have been recognised for their commitment and contribution to achieving greater inclusion and accessibility for people with disability,” she said.

“The National Disability Awards, now in their 10th year, are an excellent opportunity to honour and recognise the hard work and achievements of every day Australians who are making a real difference to the lives of people with disability.”

This year’s winners demonstrate a range of outstanding achievements including:

  • long-term advocates in social justice, equality and rights for people with disability;
  • the development of innovative technology that has the ability to bring function to paralysed or damaged hands;
  • a program that gives people with disability the chance to experience scuba diving in the comfort of their own local pool; and
  • a community that strives to make its town more accessible.

The 10 Award winners were chosen across eight Award categories drawn from a field of more than 120 nominations.

“I would like to thank all the winners for the remarkable work being done to break down barriers faced by people with disability and to make Australia a more inclusive society,” Mrs Prentice said.

The National Disability Awards are a major part of the Commonwealth Government’s celebration of International Day of People with Disability, marked on 3 December each year.

The 2016 National Disability Award winners are listed below.  Further details of their achievements are available at

2016 National Disability Award winners

  • Maurice Corcoran AM, SA
  • Brisbane City Council, QLD
  • The Dementia Friendly Kiama Project, Kiama Municipal Council, NSW
  • Shire of Collie, WA
  • Determined2, SA
  • Nightlife Disability Service, VIC
  • Dr Peter Puya Abolfathi, Healthcare Innovations Australia, NSW
  • Tagai State College Student Support Services Team, QLD
  • Kerri Cassidy, Chronic CerebroSpinal Venous Insufficiency (CCSVI) Australia, VIC
  • Kairsty Wilson, AED Legal Centre, VIC