Media Release by The Hon Jane Prentice MP

Finalists announced for the 10th National Disability Awards

The Hon Jane Prentice MP, Assistant Minister for Social Services and Disability Services, today announced the 22 finalists in this year’s National Disability Awards.

Now in its 10th year, the Awards recognise the outstanding contributions of individuals, businesses and local governments to improve the lives of people with disability.

The National Disability Awards are held each year in the lead up to International Day of People with Disability on 3 December. This year, there were 129 nominations across eight categories.

Achievements by finalists include:

  • Developing innovative, attractive and educational web and sound applications, tools and programs that enable children with vision impairment to acquire essential digital skills.
  • Creating inclusive opportunities for people with disability, injury or medical condition to experience freedom of movement in a weightless environment.
  • Raising the profile of justice issues faced by people with disability.
  • Increasing participation in and access to the arts for people who are deaf and hard of hearing.
  • Facilitating employment opportunities for people with disability.

“As a nation that prides itself on supporting the development of an inclusive society, I am proud to see the commitment and significant contributions made by our finalists over the last 10 years,” Mrs Prentice said.

“There have been some outstanding achievements made by those nominated this year, and it is important that we recognise their accomplishments as they raise awareness of issues facing people with disability and their carers.

The Awards’ eight categories celebrate best practice by recognising the valuable contribution individuals, organisations and initiatives have made to improve the lives of people with disability.

In 2016, Awards will be presented in the following categories:

  • Lesley Hall Leadership Award*
  • Employer of the Year Award
  • Excellence in Community Partnerships
  • Excellence in Inclusive Community Design
  • Excellence in Inclusive Service Delivery
  • Excellence in Technology
  • Excellence in Education and Training
  • Excellence in Justice and Rights Protection.

“To celebrate the 10th Anniversary of the National Disability Awards, I encourage all Australians to look to the achievements of our disability champions spanning the past decade and learn how we can work together to reduce social discrimination, to innovate and to bring about change for people with disability.

“I am confident that the work of our National Disability Award finalists will inspire others to realise the importance of making our communities more inclusive.”

The 2016 National Disability Award winners will be announced at a ceremony on Monday, 7 November at Parliament House in Canberra.

2016 National Disability Award finalists

  • Brisbane City Council, QLD
  • Taste Creative and Bus Stop Films, NSW
  • Accessible Arts, The Deaf Arts Network, NSW
  • Dementia Friendly Kiama Project, Kiama Municipal Council, NSW
  • Coolbinia Bombers JFC and the Fremantle Dockers Foundation, WA
  • Changing Places, Association for Children with a Disability, VIC
  • V/Line, VIC
  • Kairsty Wilson, AED Legal Centre, VIC
  • Shire of Collie, WA
  • Determined2, SA
  • Nightlife Disability Service, VIC
  • Sonokids Australia, QLD
  • Dr Peter Puya Abolfathi, Healthcare Innovations Australia, NSW
  • Partnership between Flinders University, University of South Australia, and the Women’s and Children’s Health Network in Adelaide, SA
  • Tagai State College Student Support Services Team, QLD
  • Dandelion Program, Department of Human Services, ACT
  • Kerri Cassidy, CCSVI Australia, VIC
  • Partnership between Swinburne University of Technology, Victorian Paediatric Rehabilitation Service at Melbourne’s Royal Children’s Hospital, The Brainary, Transport Accident Commission, and CSIRO’s Data61, VIC
  • Griffith University, QLD
  • G-Force Contracting, WA
  • Lifestart Co-operative Ltd, NSW
  • RSL Victoria, VIC

*Finalists for the Lesley Hall Leadership Award have not been included.

More information on the National Disability Awards finalists available at