Media Release by The Hon Jane Prentice MP

National Disability Awards nominations now open

In conjunction with the United Nations’ International Day of People with Disability, nominations are now open for the 2016 National Disability Awards.

These awards recognise the outstanding achievements of people and organisations who are improving the lives of people with disability.

In announcing the opening of nominations, Assistant Minister for Disability Services, the Hon Jane Prentice MP encouraged individuals, service providers and businesses of all sizes to submit nominations for the Awards before the 30 June closing date.

“It is important that we recognise the tremendous efforts of those who are working hard every day to make our society a better place for all Australians,” Mrs Prentice said.

These National Disability Awards provide a platform to promote disability issues and are a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the remarkable work being done to break down barriers and make all aspects of life in Australia more accessible to people with disability.”

The Awards will showcase best practice across the community in eight award categories:

  1. Lesley Hall Leadership Award
  2. Employer of the Year Award
  3. Excellence in Community Partnerships
  4. Excellence in Inclusive Community Design
  5. Excellence in Inclusive Service Delivery
  6. Excellence in Technology
  7. Excellence in Education and Training
  8. Excellence in Justice and Rights Protection.

International Day of People with Disability is celebrated each year on 3 December.

Visit to find out more, or to make a nomination in the National Disability Awards. Nominations close on 30 June 2016.