Media Release by The Hon Dan Tehan MP

South Australia joins National Redress Scheme

The Federal Government welcomes today’s announcement that the South Australian Government will join the National Redress Scheme.

This will allow the survivors of institutional child sexual abuse in South Australian Government institutions to access counselling, a direct personal response from the institution and a monetary payment.

Premier Steven Marshall and Attorney-General Vickie Chapman have shown true leadership by opting into the National Redress Scheme and acknowledging the abuse suffered by children in its institutions.

New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, the ACT, Tasmania and the Commonwealth have already committed to the National Redress Scheme.

Earlier this month the Federal Government introduced legislation to establish the National Scheme, which will start on 1 July subject to the passage of the legislation.

Governments and institutions must take responsibility for the abuse that happened on their watch, and provide payment and support in recognition of the survivors.

The Turnbull Government continues to work constructively with the Western Australian Government and non-government institutions seeking to opt into the National Redress Scheme.