Media Release by The Hon Dan Tehan MP

Queensland and Northern Territory join National Redress Scheme

The Federal Government welcomes today’s announcement that Queensland and the Northern Territory have joined the National Redress Scheme for survivors of institutional child sexual abuse. 

Australia is another step closer to a truly national scheme that covers as many people as possible with Queensland and the Northern Territory opting in to the Redress Scheme alongside Victoria, New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory and the Commonwealth. 

The decision opens the door for Queensland-based non-government institutions to join the Redress Scheme. 

Governments and organisations must take responsibility for the abuse that happened on their watch, and provide payment and support in recognition of the survivors. 

The Turnbull Government urges the remaining governments and non-government institutions to commit to joining the Redress Scheme. 

The Redress Scheme will start on 1 July, subject to the passage of legislation, and offer access to psychological counselling, a direct personal response from the responsible institution and a monetary payment. 

For more information visit or call the National Redress Scheme on 1800 737 377 (8am to 5pm Monday to Friday).

Those who need immediate assistance can contact: 

  • Lifeline on 13 11 14
  • 1800Respect on 1800 737 732
  • MensLine Australia on 1300 789 978