Media Release by Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield

Professor Peter Shergold AC to chair Aged Care Sector Committee

Professor Peter Shergold AC will chair the Aged Care Sector Committee, tasked with building the foundation for a constructive and lasting partnership between the Australian Government and the aged care sector.

Professor Shergold is an eminent Australian who will provide strong leadership for the important work of this new committee.

This committee will provide guidance to help the aged care sector adapt to new demands and a greater consumer focus.

The Australian Government understands the need to work in partnership with the aged care sector and aged care consumers.

Committee members have been drawn from peak bodies representing providers across residential and home care; for-profit and not-for-profit providers; consumer and workforce representatives.

One of its first tasks is to develop the Aged Care Sector Statement of Principles to set out the way in which government and the aged care sector will work together to progress reform.

This statement of principles will reflect the need to bed down reform, ongoing monitoring and how the recommendations of the Productivity Commission’s Caring for Older Australians report are considered in the five year review of the reforms in 2016-17.

This committee will provide an important conduit from the sector and other stakeholders to government.

It will provide important advice, including identifying where to start the critical task of cutting red tape in aged care–practical steps that can be taken to reduce administrative burdens and compliance costs.

Members of the Committee have already been involved in consultations to develop a better way to allocate the former Aged Care Workforce Supplement funding in a more flexible and targeted way.

Aged Care Sector Committee Membership

  • Professor Peter Shergold AC (Chair)
    University of Western Sydney
  • Professor John Kelly
    Chief Executive Officer, Aged and Community Services Australia
  • Mr Patrick Reid
    Chief Executive Officer, Leading Age Services Australia
  • Mr Ian Yates
    Chief Executive, Council on the Ageing
  • Ms Lee Thomas
    Federal Secretary, Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation
  • Mr Michael O’Neill
    Chief Executive, National Seniors Australia
  • Ms Lin Hatfield Dodds
    National Director, UnitingCare Australia
  • Mr Martin Laverty
    Chief Executive Officer, Catholic Health Australia
  • Mr Glenn Rees
    Chief Executive Officer, Alzheimer’s Australia
  • Ms Ara Cresswell
    Chief Executive Officer, Carers Australia
  • Ms Netty Horton
    Territorial Social Programme Director, Salvation Army
  • Mr Gary Barnier
    Managing Director, Domain Principal Group
  • Mr Louis Dudley
    Managing Director, Bupa
  • Ms Lynda O’Grady
    Chair, Aged Care Financing Authority