Media Release by Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield

Finalists announced in 2014 National Disability Awards

Twenty-three outstanding individuals and organisations have been named as finalists in the 2014 National Disability Awards.

They were chosen from more than 200 nominations received across the eight categories of the awards.

Achievements by the finalists include:

  • creating inclusive play spaces for children and their families,
  • forming a partnership to increase fire safety awareness for the hearing impaired,
  • establishing facilities to ensure wheelchair users can be included on cruise tours,
  • raising the profile of the unmet needs of Aboriginal people with disability, and
  • developing inclusive performing arts.

Senator Mitch Fifield, the Assistant Minister for Social Services, congratulated the 23 finalists.

“These finalists are fine examples of the work being done to improve the lives of people with disability,” Senator Fifield said.

“I commend their commitment to improving the economic and social participation opportunities for people with disability in Australia.”

“Individuals and organisations are working hard across the country every day to ensure people with disability have the same opportunities as all Australians.”

“I’m certain that their work will inspire other individuals and organisations to consider what they can do to break down barriers for people with disability,” Senator Fifield said.

The eight categories of the awards reflect the priorities of the National Disability Strategy 2010-2020. The strategy represents a commitment from all levels of government to deliver a united approach both now and into the future to address the challenges that continue to be faced by people with disability.

All finalists will be invited to attend the national awards event at Parliament House in Canberra on
Tuesday, 25 November.

The National Disability Awards are a major part of celebrations marking the International Day of People with Disability on 3 December each year.

For more information about the finalists visit or access the latest news via and


  1. Lesley Hall Award for Lifetime Achievement in Disability

Bill Bradley

Hornsby, NSW

Tricia Malowney

Ringwood, VIC

Jill Wishart

Brighton, SA

  1. Emerging Leaders Award in Disability

William Johns

Bankstown, NSW

Jordanna Smith

Sutherland, NSW

Brandon Ah Tong

Melbourne, VIC

  1. Improving Inclusive and Accessible Communities Award

Jervis Bay Wild

Jervis Bay, Huskisson, NSW

Opera Australia

Southbank, VIC

Touched by Olivia

Drummoyne, NSW

  1. Improving Advocacy and Rights Promotion Award

First Peoples Disability Network (FPDN)

Redfern, NSW (national)

Self Advocacy Resource Unit

Melbourne, VIC

The Umbrella Network

Rockhampton, QLD

  1. Improving Employment Opportunities Award

Australia Post

Melbourne, VIC (national)

John MacDonald

Browns Plains, QLD


North Gosford, NSW

  1. Improving Personal and Community Support Award

Cerebral Palsy Support Network

Preston, VIC

Community Leadership Loddon Murray Inc.

North-Central VIC

Technology Assisting Disability WA (TADWA)

Bassendean, WA

  1. Improving Education Outcomes Award

Everyone Everyday Project Team, Disability ACT, Community Services Directorate, ACT Government

Canberra, ACT

Stirling Community Early Learning Centre

Stirling, SA

  1. Improving Health and Wellbeing Outcomes Award

Julian Trollor and his team at the Department of Developmental Disability Neuropsychiatry (known as 3DN)

University of New South Wales, Australia

Living Safer Sexual Lives: Respectful Relationships

Bendigo, VIC

Vicdeaf (SLC VIC) / Emergency Management Victoria

East Melbourne, VIC