Media Release by Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield

2014 National Disability Awards recipients announced

Ten outstanding individuals and organisations received a 2014 National Disability Award at a gala event held at Parliament House last night.

The award recipients are:

Lesley Hall Award for Lifetime Achievement in Disability

Bill Bradley, Hornsby, NSW.

Emerging Leaders Award in Disability

Jordanna Smith, Sutherland, NSW.

Improving Inclusive and Accessible Communities Award

Rebecca Ho and Touched by Olivia, Drummoyne, NSW.

Improving Advocacy and Rights Promotion Award

First People Disability Network (FPDN), National, Redfern, NSW.

Improving Employment Opportunities Award

Joint recipients:

John McDonald, Browns Plains, Qld; and

Saronbell, North Gosford, NSW.

Improving Personal and Community Support Award

Technology Assisting Disability WA (TADWA), Bassendean, WA.

Improving Education Outcomes Award

Joint recipients:

Everyone Everyday Disability Awareness Program, Canberra, ACT; and

Stirling Community Early Learning Centre, Stirling, SA.

Improving Health and Wellbeing Outcomes Award

Vicdeaf (SLC Vic) / Emergency Management Victoria, Melbourne, Vic.

Twenty-three finalists from more than 200 nominations across eight award categories travelled to Canberra for the event.

Senator Mitch Fifield, the Assistant Minister for Social Services, congratulated the 10 recipients.

“These recipients are working hard to break down barriers for people with disability,” Senator Fifield said.

“From innovative education programmes and inclusive sports for adults and children alike, to leadership in business and employment, and community support programmes that are making a positive difference in health, tourism, emergency services and opportunities for Indigenous Australians.”

“It’s a privilege to be involved with these awards and to see these individuals and organisations receive the recognition they deserve for their important work,” Minister Fifield said.

“I congratulate all recipients, and wish them all the very best as their work continues to inspire other Australians to improve the lives of people with disability.”

The award categories reflect the priorities of the National Disability Strategy 2010-2020 and the determination by all levels of government to deliver a united approach, both now and into the future, to address challenges faced by people with disability.

The National Disability Awards are a major part of celebrations marking the International Day of People with Disability on 3 December each year.

For more information about the recipients, visit or access the latest news via and