Media Release by Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield

Experts to inform national carer gateway

The Australian Government today announced the members of a new Carer Gateway Advisory Group to lead an initiative to better support Australia’s 2.7 million unpaid carers.

The Government invested $33.7 million in the 2015 Budget to build a national carer gateway and to integrate supports for carers to help them get the support they need.

The 12-member Carer Gateway Advisory Group includes a mix of experts from service providers, peak bodies and individuals with a lived experience as a carer.

They will draw on this extensive experience to make sure the carer gateway meets the needs of carers across the country.

From December 2015, the national carer gateway will be the front door for government support and information for all carers, regardless of who they care for.

Hard-working, time-poor carers will have a single phone number and website with a service finder where they can quickly find relevant information about the services available to them.

We are consulting widely with carers to ensure it meets their needs, and will ask more than 1000 carers and carer support organisations what they want the gateway to deliver.

Research began this month and includes a survey, focus groups and one-on-one interviews with carers from a range of backgrounds.

The first meeting of the Advisory Group will take place on 6 July in Canberra.

Carer Gateway Advisory Group

  • Ara Cresswell (Co-Chair) – Carers Australia
  • James Christian (Co-Chair) – Department of Social Services
  • Frank Quinlan – Mental Health Australia
  • Peter Sparrow – South Australian Carer Support Network
  • Damian Griffis – First Peoples Disability Network
  • Lorenzo Fazzini – Co.As.It
  • Rebecca Reynolds – National Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersex Health Alliance
  • Dr Ron Sinclair – consumer representative
  • David Bowen – National Disability Insurance Agency
  • John Rasa – Networking Health Victoria
  • Anthony Honeyman – APIS Group
  • Fiona Buffinton – Department of Social Services