Media Release by Hon Kevin Andrews MP

National homelessness agreement on track

Minister for Social Services Kevin Andrews has announced that only South Australia and Tasmania are yet to sign the 2014-15 National Partnership Agreement on Homelessness (NPAH) that provides up to $115 million in Federal funding for homelessness initiatives.

Mr Andrews said the signatory states are New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria, Western Australia along with the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.

“The NPAH will ensure homelessness programs can continue for at least another year including many focused on women and children experiencing domestic and family violence,” he said.

“Negotiations with South Australia and Tasmania are ongoing and I remain hopeful these two states will sign up in the near future.

“The previous Labor government failed to make any provision for Commonwealth homelessness funding after 30 June 2014, creating significant uncertainty for the sector and providers.

“This one-year extension of the NPAH will enable the Government to re-assess Commonwealth housing and homelessness policy with the object of doing things more efficiently.

“Over the coming year, we will look at what improvements can be made to achieve lasting reductions in the number of homeless Australians.

“I look forward to working with my state and territory colleagues as we implement the 2014-15 NPAH and make a positive difference for the homeless community,” Mr Andrews said.