Media Release by The Hon Jenny Macklin MP

Appointment of new Chair of the aboriginal Benefit Account Advisory Committee

Joint Media Release with:

  • Warren Snowdon MP, Member for Lingiari

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Patricia (Pat) Brahim to the position of Chair of the Aboriginals Benefit Account Advisory Committee (ABAAC) for a term of three years.

Mrs Brahim will replace Dr Miriam-Rose Ungunmerr-Baumann, who has held the position for 12 years and provided the Committee with strong and consistent leadership throughout her tenure.

I thank Dr Miriam-Rose Ungunmerr-Baumann for her dedicated service to the needs of Aboriginal Territorians during her term as Chair.

Mrs Brahim has more than 30 years of experience in both the public and private sector, where she has held a number of positions on several boards, committees and councils.

Throughout her career she has worked tirelessly to promote the social and community health of Indigenous people in the Northern Territory.

She has extensive expertise in business development, housing, land agreements, native title, health and community services, and community development.

Mrs Brahim is currently General Manager of Julalikari Council Aboriginal Corporation and a member of the Northern Territory Indigenous Affairs Advisory Council.

She lives in Tennant Creek, has strong family ties to the Warrumungu people, and is a recognised member of the Native Title Holders of the Patta Country, Tennant Creek.

The Aboriginals Benefit Account was established to hold and distribute statutory royalty equivalent monies generated from mining on Aboriginal land in the Northern Territory.

The ABAAC is responsible for advising the Australian Government of appropriate projects these monies can be distributed to, which will benefit Aboriginals living in the Northern Territory.

The Government’s support of projects specifically designed to benefit Indigenous people living in the Northern Territory is one way we are delivering on our commitment to close the gap between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians.

Members of the Aboriginals Benefit Account Advisory Committee include:

  • Mrs Patricia (Pat) Brahim – Chair
  • Mr Lindsay Bookie
  • Mr Samuel Bush-Blanasi
  • Ms Margaret Daiyi
  • Mr Jeffrey Dixon
  • Mr Bunug Galaminda
  • Mr Roy Harrington
  • Mr Jacob Lansen
  • Ms Veronica Lynch
  • Mr Harry Nelson
  • Ms Gina Smith
  • Mr Phillip Wilyuka
  • Mr Matthew Wonaeamirri
  • Mr Wali Wunungmurra
  • Mr Tony Wurramarrba