Media Release by The Hon Jenny Macklin MP

New Social Security Agreement with Poland

Today, on the International Day of Older Persons, a new Social Security Agreement with Poland comes into force, enabling more than 11,000 residents from both countries to gain access to pensions.

The agreement will give some people who have lived and/or worked in both countries access to the Australian and Polish age pensions for the first time.

Other Polish pensions, such as the Disability Pension, Survivors’ Pension, Work Accidents and Occupational Diseases Compensation and Pension, and Funeral Benefit can also now be claimed by former Polish residents in Australia in certain circumstances.

This agreement gives people more freedom to move between Australia and Poland knowing that their pension rights will be recognised and protected.

It recognises the reality that many people live and work in more than one country and this requires arrangements which safeguard their retirement income.

As well as improving access to pensions, the agreement will also encourage further business ties between Australia and Poland.

The agreement will also remove the requirement for compulsory contributions to be paid into both countries’ superannuation and pension insurance systems for temporarily seconded workers.

Through our strong relationship with Poland, the Australian Government has secured this agreement to provide better retirement income for people who have moved between the two countries.

Australia now has 24 social security agreements in place with Poland, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Malta, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland and the USA.