Media Release by The Hon Julie Collins MP

Tasmanian women receive board scholarships

The Minister for the Status of Women, Julie Collins, has congratulated the Tasmanian recipients of the prestigious Board Diversity Scholarships aimed at boosting the number of women in Australian boardrooms.

Elizabeth Swain from Launceston and Hobart-based Kate Cuthbertson joined Ms Collins at the announcement today of the 70 scholarship recipients nationwide.

Ms Swain is a former senior executive at Rio Tinto and is currently on the Board of Ben Lomond Water and member of its Audit and OHS Committee.

Ms Cuthbertson is a barrister and is currently a member of the Anti-Discrimination Tribunal and Mental Health Tribunal, is on the Theatre Royal Management Board, and a board member of Cosmos Incorporate and Contemporary Art Services Tasmania.

“As a proud Tasmanian, it’s great to see talented Tassie women as part of a new wave of women knocking on the door of Australian boardrooms,” Ms Collins said.

“I’m sure Liz and Kate will make full use of their substantial abilities and the opportunities provided by these scholarships.

“Their drive is just what we need in our efforts to eliminate discrimination in the boardroom and in the workplace generally.

“These scholarships will allow more women to fulfill their potential, providing Australia and the Australian economy with the benefit of their skills and expertise.”

The program is jointly funded by the Australian Government and the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Scholarship recipients undertake the Company Directors Course or Mastering the Boardroom course and receive a one-year AICD membership.

“We can achieve change in the composition of boards through cultural change in the workplace, commitment by government and business and through the efforts and example of women such as Liz and Kate,” Ms Collins said.