Media Release by Senator the Hon Jan McLucas

Nominations open for the 2012 National Disability Awards

Joint Media Release with:

  • Jenny Macklin MP, Minister for Families, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs, Minister for Disability Reform

Australians are being encouraged to nominate individuals and organisations that contribute positively to the lives of people with disability for the sixth annual National Disability Awards.

The Minister for Disability Reform, Jenny Macklin said nominations are now open for the Awards which recognise the achievements of the disability sector and the role models with disability who inspire all Australians.

“We know there are many people in the disability sector and the community who contribute so much of their time and energy supporting people with disability,” said Minister Macklin.

“These Awards allow us to recognise their invaluable contributions and the ways in which they provide support and deliver innovative approaches that make a real difference to the lives of people with disability.”

The Parliamentary Secretary for Disabilities and Carers, Senator Jan McLucas said the call for nominations comes at an important time for the disability sector.

“The Gillard Government is investing $1 billion over four years to launch a National Disability Insurance Scheme from mid 2013 – one year ahead of the timetable recommended by the Productivity Commission,” said Senator McLucas.

“We know people with a disability, their families and their carers have waited long enough for this reform. An NDIS will transform the way services are funded and delivered, ensuring that people who rely on this assistance are better supported and have more choice and control.

Minister Macklin and Senator McLucas are encouraging people across the country to nominate across nine award categories which are:

  • The Minister’s Award for Excellence in Disability Reform
  • Emerging Leaders Award
  • Excellence in Accessible Communities Award
  • Excellence in Improving Social Participation Award
  • Excellence in Advocacy & Rights Promotion Award
  • Excellence in Improving Employment Opportunities Award
  • Excellence in Improving Personal and Community Support Award
  • Excellence in Improving Education Outcomes Award
  • Excellence in Improving Health Outcomes Award

“The Awards recognise organisations and individuals from all walks of life that provide opportunities for full inclusion, access and participation for people with disability,” Minister Macklin said.

Nominations close 20 July 2012. Award recipients will be announced at a gala dinner held at the National Gallery of Australia in Canberra on 28 November 2012.

The National Disability Awards are part of the Australian Government’s celebration of International Day of People with Disability, which occurs on 3 December each year.

The annual event aims to build awareness of disability issues and of the important role people with disability have in their local communities, their country and internationally.

To nominate for the National Disability Awards, go to or call 1800 440 385, TTY users please call 1800 555 677 and ask for 1800 440 385.