Media Release by The Hon Brendan O’Connor MP

National Housing Supply Council Reappointments

Four members of the National Housing Supply Council have been reappointed for a further two years, Minister for Housing and Minister for Homelessness Brendan O’Connor announced today.

Mr O’Connor said he was pleased that Council Chair Dr Owen Donald and members Saul Eslake, Dr Judy Yates and Professor Sue Holliday would continue to contribute to the Council’s work.

The Council was established in 2008 to provide forecasts, analysis and advice on the adequacy of land supply and construction activity to meet housing demand and improve affordability.

The Council‘s immediate priority is the next annual State of Supply Report, which aggregates and assesses information on land supply and demand for housing from all levels of government and the private sector.

“All Australians are entitled to a secure and affordable home, which is why the Gillard Government has made housing affordability a national priority,” Mr O’Connor said.

“We’ve made an unprecedented investment of more than $20 billion to address housing supply and affordability issues.

“We have to get housing supply right to improve economic productivity and make Australia an even better place in which to live and do business.

“I am very pleased to announce the reappointment of Dr Donald, a former Victorian Director of Housing, to lead the work of the Council and bring to bear his extensive expertise in Australia’s housing sector.

“I am also happy that Mr Eslake, Dr Yates and Prof Holliday will continue to contribute to the Council’s important work informing the community, the private sector and the Government on how we can work together to improve housing supply and affordability around the nation.”

The four members’ terms were due to expire on Sunday, April 22. The terms of the other members of the Council are still ongoing.

The reappointed members were selected for their individual capacity and their diverse expertise in areas relevant to the housing industry, including planning and development, banking and finance sectors and housing research.

“The skills and experience of Council members, and the analysis undertaken by the Council, make an important contribution to understanding how the Australian housing market interacts with policy and practice at all levels of government,” Mr O’Connor said.

“I thank the Council for their valuable contribution and I look forward to working with them to address the challenges facing Australia’s housing market.”

A full membership list is attached. For more information visit


National Housing Supply Council

Dr Owen Donald

Council Chair Principal, Policy and Management Advisory Dr Donald was formerly the Director of Housing in Victoria and previously Executive Director (CEO) of the Australian Housing and Urban Research Institute Limited.  His career includes over 20 years in leadership roles in the public and private sectors.  He has also held a range of non-executive director roles in the housing, health and transport industries, including Chairman of Barwon Health.

Mr Saul Eslake

Council Deputy Chair Chief Economist, Bank of America – Merrill Lynch Australia Mr Eslake has held senior economist positions in the finance and investment sectors, including Chief Economist at the Australia & New Zealand Banking Group (ANZ) from 1995 to 2009. Prior to joining Bank of America – Merrill Lynch Australia, he was Program Director – Productivity Growth, Grattan Institute.

Prof Sue Holliday

Managing Director, Strategies for Change Pty Ltd; Professor of Planning Practice, UNSW Ms Holliday is a city planner and economist, and was Director General of Planning   in NSW from 1997-2003. She has extensive experience in housing, infrastructure, metropolitan development and sustainability.

Dr Judy Yates

Honorary Associate Professor, University of Sydney Dr Yates’ research includes housing economics, finance and policy and has recently focused on housing affordability, intergenerational sustainability of the housing system, and taxation.

Prof Graeme Hugo

Australian Research Council Professorial Fellow, University of Adelaide. Mr Hugo is Professor of Geography and Director of the National Centre for Social Applications of Geographical Information Systems with research interests in urban and population geography and demography, and social geography.

Mr Nigel Satterley AM

Managing Director, Satterley Property Group Mr Satterley has over 30 years of experience in residential property development in WA.

Ms Ruth Spielman

Executive Officer, National Growth Areas Alliance Ms Spielman is qualified in both social work and urban planning, and has 19 years’ experience working in growth area councils across strategic planning and community services.

Ms Mary Patetsos

Board member: South Australian Housing Trust, South Australian Affordable Housing Board of Management, Social Inclusion Board South Australia Ms Patetsos has extensive knowledge of the economic, infrastructure and social needs of South Australia and has studied sociology, social work, psychology and economics.

Ms Janet Buhagiar

Director, Social Policy – NT Government Ms Buhagiar has broad expertise working in both the corporate and not for profit sector prior to joining government and has experience in the provision and development of community housing projects through building partnerships with government and corporate networks.

Ms Dyan Currie

National President, Planning Institute of Australia Ms Currie is a qualified and experienced strategic and development assessment planner, and has qualifications in urban and physical geography, urban and regional planning, and public sector management.

Mr Mark Hunter

CEO Residential, Stockland Mr Hunter has over 29 years’ experience in the property sector in South Africa and Australia, and has worked across many fields including planning, development, sales, marketing and design.

Mr Simon Norris

General Manager, Clarendon Homes Queensland Mr Norris has a background in economics and property valuation and has held senior positions with a number of property development groups.